Mexico was left with crown

Happy debut. In his first appearance, the host Selective Commission Player Team - Mexico won the title of America V FIFPro Tournament for Free players by winning a tight 2-1 in its similar Acolfutpro of Colombia.

The event organized by FIFPro Division America culminated in this way, after two days of intense camaraderie and played on the tennis matches Barceló resort - Riviera Maya Cancun.

In the end, Mexico managed to disarm the defensive play of Colombia. Thanks to a goal scored in the first minute (Yonathan Almanza), Mexicans gave the initiative to Colombians for these beat their opponents on the break.
The Acolfutpro Team was not able to create many opportunities, but managed to equalize before the break. Edixon Perea-marking his fourth goal of the tournament came to the net after a great work of Juan Escobar. But after nine minutes of the second half, Mexico again took the lead, this time I stayed until the end. It was Pedro Solis who scored the decisive goal, to dodge the Colombian defense after a great shot, including: 2-1.

Braulio Luna Mexican captain received the award. The player played in 40 World Cups 1998 and 2002 and took a total of 32 appearances for the Mexican national team. "You can only Not admired how Braulio Luna has guided his younger compatriots during the development of this tournament, and thus helped them make the most of this opportunity to extend their careers as professional footballers", has said Tijs Tummers, Director of Services and responsible player FIFPro FIFPro Tournament.

Braulio Luna was not the only former player of the national team among the more than 100 participants from the fifth edition of the tournament FIFPro America. Edixon Perea made 26 appearances for Colombia, scoring nine goals. The striker 30 years was named Best Forward and Best Scorer of the Tournament after scoring four goals in three games. His teammate, Juan Carlos Escobar was named Player of the Tournament FIFPro America.

A final between Mexico and Colombia was hard fought and ended the tournament two days held in Cancún. Both teams were clearly the best in the competition this year. Colombia reached his third final in three attempts (winning the title in 2013) by defeating Chile (2-1) and Peru (3-0). Mexico drew 0-0 with Brazil, and proved too strong for Costa Rica (2-0, with two goals from Gregorio Torres). That was enough to claim the top spot in their group because Brazil had defeated Team Asojupro of Costa Rica 1-0 that day.

Costa Rica also made his debut, but the Asojupro Team was less fortunate than Mexico. Costa Rica finished in sixth place after losing to the team of Peru, SAFAP (2-3) in their last game. The team of Chile, Sifup, reached the third place by defeating Team Fenapaf, Brazil, 3-1.

But the point of this tournament is not which team is first or last, but only the professional players without contracts: exhibit their skills and fitness in an effort to capture the attention of a new club and continue his career as a professional. The Mexican midfielder Gregorio Torres has put it in perspective:

"One never gives up, so my colleagues and I are still here. Now we were given the opportunity to come and this is not for giving up, but to keep working hard."

FIFPro wish all participants the best of luck in your search for a new contract and in their future careers in professional football.

America FIFPro Tournament 2015 Results

Participants: Brazil (Fenapaf), Chile (Sifup), Colombia (Acolfutpro), Costa Rica (Asojupro), Mexico (Commission player), and Peru (SAFAP)
           Friday 16 January
Chile-Colombia 1-2
           0-1 Julián Martínez; 0-2 Edixon Perea; Alexis Flores 1-2
Brazil-Mexico 0-0
Chile-Peru 1-1
           José Valdebenito 1-0; 1-1 Carlos Barrena
Brazil-Costa Rica 1-0
           Rodrigo Santana 1-0
Colombia-Peru 3-0
           1-0 Edixon Perea; 2-0 Fabry Castro; 3-0 Edixon Perea
Mexico-Costa Rica 2-0
           Gregorio Torres 1-0; 2-0 Gregorio Torres
           Saturday January 17
Peru-Costa Rica 3-2
           Harold 0-1 Villalobos; Barrena 1-1; Hall Joel 1-2;
Miguel Mostto 2-2; 3-2 Barrena
Chile-Brazil 3-1
           1-0 Valdebenito; Galvao 1-1; July 2 to 1 Beltran (pen); 3-1 Valdebenito
Colombia-Mexico 1-2
           Yonathan Almanza 0-1; 1-1 Edixon Perea; 1-2 Pedro Solis